Last Updated: Sep 11, 2014
- Library Catalog
Search for physical books, journals, and DVDs at the Clarke library.
Search the electronic book collection which contains thousands of scholarly books on: business, literary criticism, religion, education, science, and more.
- Google Books
Search books Google has scanned into their book collection. Depending on copyright regulations you may be able to view parts or all of the book.
Search for books in libraries all over the world! If you have enough time (about two weeks) we can look into borrowing books you need through interlibrary loan (ILL).
- Naxos Music Library
Stream music and playlists from a wide variety of music genres including jazz, pop, spoken word, gospel, classical, and world.
- DRAM (Rec. Music)
DRAM is a scholarly resource of recordings, including CD quality audio, liner notes and essays from New World, Composers Recordings, and other important labels.
- Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is a portal to searching multiple music reference sources at the same time. It contains information on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres and individual works.
- Oxford History of Western Music
The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. Since its original publication in print Taruskin’s landmark study has received universal acclaim and numerous awards.
- IPA Source (International Phonetic Alphabet)
The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.
- OnMusic Dictionary
You can search this electronic dictionary by composer, instrument or symbol.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is probably THE best place to start searching for articles on any academic subject. It contains full text coverage to many journals, magazines, and other helpful resources on a wide variety of topics.
JSTOR contains journal articles in a variety of disciplines including: business, economics, education, history, language and literature.
- Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a great database for the humanities and social sciences. It contains peer-reviewed academic journals, eBooks, and content from university presses.
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. It dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2 million citations.
For additional ideas and background information or to follow news and trends, you can browse these websites: