- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is probably THE best place to start searching for articles on any academic subject. It contains full text coverage to many journals, magazines, and other helpful resources on a wide variety of topics.
- Access Science
Access Science includes images, video, and animations in the areas of biology, Earth and environmental science, chemistry, physics to help undergraduates conceptualize science topics. It also contains scientific and technical definitions, well known scientist biographies as well as articles and research updates.
- Access World News (NewsBank)
Browse or search full text of newspapers from around the world, including access to local papers including Dubuque's Telegraph Herald.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Search or browse early American newspapers from 1690-1876.
- American Chemical Society (ACS)
ACS provides access to popular peer-reviewed research articles in the field of chemistry and related sciences.
ARTstor is a collection of more than 1.5 million images. Search or browse images in the fields of: art, architecture, humanities, and the sciences.
Asia-Studies Full-Text is a database of scholarly literature, statistics, and analysis with regards to Asian Studies. Subject areas include: humanities, social sciences, and business.
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
Updated annually, Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online gives you instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship in the field of sociology. Since 2007, there have been 18 batches of updates published which have revised 85 online entries and added 67 new entries to the encyclopedia.
- Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier is a great database for all types of business information. It has full text articles on a variety of business topics: marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It also contains market reports, industry reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Catalog of Art Museum Images Online (CAMIO) contains approximately 95,000 art images: photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture, plus audio, video and mixed media.
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (ATLA CPLI)
ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (ATLA CPLI) contains access to periodicals, essays, church documents, and papal documents specific to the practice and study of Roman Catholicism.
CINAHL is one of the best databases for students to use in any health sciences field. It contains full-text for hundreds of nursing, physical therapy and other health journals.
ClasePeriodica provides information on documents published in Latin American journals specializing in science, technology, social sciences and humanities. Offers access to 600,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Find articles on research and development in the field of computing and applied sciences in this database.
- Consumer Medication Information (AFSH)
Published by the American Society of Health System Pharmacists this resource is a trusted source for drug information written in a language for lay consumers.
- Corporate Resource Net
Access thousands of articles in the field of business and company profiles for the world's largest companies.
- CQ Researcher
CQ researcher contains reports on a variety of current events topics including politics, science, education, environment, religion, health, and more.
- Credo Reference
Search a large collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries to gain background information on your research topic.
- DRAM (Rec. Music)
DRAM is a scholarly resource of recordings, including CD quality audio, liner notes and essays from New World, Composers Recordings, and other important labels.
- eBooks from EBSCO (all EBSCO eBooks)
Search the electronic book collection which contains thousands of scholarly books on: business, literary criticism, religion, education, science, and more.
This interface provides access to all of the EBSCO databases including Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, ERIC, Business Source Premier and others.
- Encyclopedia of Social Work (Oxford Reference)
The Encyclopedia of Social Work contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work. Comprehensive in coverage and international in scope, the Encyclopedia is a valuable resource to social work practitioners, scholars, and students alike.
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) contains over a million records, and full text access to over 300,000 documents in the field of education dating back to the 1960's. This is THE resource for education students.
Firstsearch is an OCLC service that connects you to information in wide range of subjects in 13 databases.
- Funk and Wagnalls
Search this Encyclopedia for general entries on a variety of topics.
- GPO (Government Printing Office)
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).
Search GreenFile if you are interested in how humans impact the environment. It includes scholarly and government articles on: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition
This database contains a wealth of consumer health information on many health topics including: medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This resource contains lots of full text coverage of allied health fields, particularly nursing.
- IPA Source (International Phonetic Alphabet)
The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.
- Joanna Briggs Evidence Based Practices
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
- Journal Locator
Find full-text articles by entering the title of the JOURNAL (not the title of the article) in the search box.
- JSTOR (access suspended until July 2015)
JSTOR contains a variety of journal articles in a variety of disciplines including: business, economics, education, history, language, and literature.
- Learning Express Library 3.0
Learning Express is a great resource for practice exams, test preparation, and ebooks. Clarke students will likely find the PRAXIS and LSAT material the most helpful. In order to take full advantage of the resources, users will want to register for a FREE account.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic provides access to resources in the areas of business, law, and news. It is most helpful with legal research.
- Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
LISTA contains information in the areas of librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
- Literature Criticism Online
Access modern and historical literary commentary from hundreds of encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Tens of thousands of essays analyzing authors and their works are available in full-text.
- Literature Resource Center
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
- Market Research Academic
MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to extensive and detailed market and industry reports that include: industry interviews, competitive analysis, market trends, product innovations, buyer behavior, and market share.
- MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier is a multidisciplinary database that contains reference books, articles, and images on a wide variety of topics.
- McClatchy-Tribune Collection
The McClathy-Tribune Collection contains a 90 day archive of several hundred newspapers from the McClathy-Tribune Information Services.
Over 18 million citations from all areas of medicine including: dentistry, nursing, health services administration, and more.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
Published by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook provides access to a wide variety of mental measurements used in the study of psychology, education, business, and leadership.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals
The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains information about 5,500 periodicals regarding editorial contact information, and frequency of publication, circulation, subscription cost, and submission guidelines.
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. It dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2 million citations.
- Naxos Music Library
Stream music and playlists from a wide variety of music genres including jazz, pop, spoken word, gospel, classical, and world.
- Newsbank Special Reports
Newsbank Special Reports contains news articles, images, videos, and more organized under specific topics or themes.
- Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus contains almost 900 full-text newspapers which includes more than 35 million full-text articles. It also offers almost a million television and radio news transcripts.
OAIster contains a variety of resources shared from other libraries including digitized books, journal articles, newspapers, manuscripts, audio files, video files, photographic images, data sets, and theses and research papers.
- Ovid (full text nursing journals)
Ovid contains journals in the health sciences with a focus on nursing.
- Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is a good resource to start your art research. It contains art reference works including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
This is a scholarly resource focused on significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink.
- Oxford History of Western Music
The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. Since its original publication in print Taruskin’s landmark study has received universal acclaim and numerous awards.
- Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is a portal to searching multiple music reference sources at the same time. It contains information on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres and individual works.
- Oxford Reference
Search Oxford's quality up-to-date reference collection as a starting point for your research on a variety of topics.
- Passport (Euromonitor)
Passport is a market research database used by researchers and companies to understand the global business environment. It features millions of statistics and in-depth reports on 27 industries with demographic, macro and socioeconomic data and analysis on consumers and economies in countries worldwide.
- Philosopher's Index
Philosopher's Index is a current and comprehensive database covering all areas of philosophy. It is considered the most through index on philosophy. It contains research from 1940 in over 680 journals from over 50 countries.
- Primary Search
Primary Search is designed for elementary school research. It is all full-text articles from over 70 popular magazines. Each article has been given a reading level indicator (Lexile). Articles date back to 1990.
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is THE place to search for full-text peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PyschINFO is produced by the American Psychological Association (APA). It contains more and a wider range of citations than PsychARTICLES, however not everything is in full text. Access abstracts for over 3 million records including journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
PsycTESTS®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.
- Regional Business News
This is a good place to look for business news released in business publications, trade publications, newspapers, TV and radio transcripts, and magazines over the last 22 years.
- Science Direct
Search millions of articles and book chapters in the areas of: health sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, engineering, and social sciences and humanities.
- Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive and high quality sociology research database. It features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text from more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
- Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
- Topic Search
TOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
- Vocational and Career Collection
Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.
- World Almanac
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs.
Search for books in libraries locally and all over the world! Sometimes a library nearby will have what you need (Loras, UD, Carnegie-Stout) and you go there and borrow books. If what you need is farther away we can we can look into borrowing books you need through the mail via. interlibrary loan (ILL), just be sure to allow some extra time (about two weeks).
- WorldCat Dissertations
Contains over 8 million records of dissertations and theses from other libraries. Some are freely available in electronic format.