Find books, articles, and scholarly websites on various history topics. This guide will also help you find primary sources.
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2014
Search these electronic encyclopedias to get background information and overviews on all sorts of historical topics.
- Credo Reference: History Topics Pages
Browse this list of people and events to get background information on various historical topics. You can also search by entering keywords into the search box at the top of the page.
- Oxford Reference Online
Contains encyclopedias, dictionaries, timelines and other types of materials to gain background information.
- Library Catalog
Search for physical books, journals, and DVDs at the Clarke library.
View a list of electronic books on all sorts of history topics. Click the eBook Full Text icon below a title to view a book you are interested in.
- Google Books
Search books Google has scanned into their book collection. Depending on copyright regulations you may be able to view parts or all of the book.
Search for books in libraries all over the world! If you have enough time (about two weeks) we can look into borrowing books you need through interlibrary loan (ILL).
Browse these web sites to get additional information on all sorts of historical topics.
Primary Resources are documents or artifacts that were written or created during the time an event took place. Some examples include, diaries, letters, official records, autobiographies, film, clothing, or newspaper articles.
Here are some resources that contain primary documents and resources.
- America's Historical Newspapers
- Our Documents
View key documents from American history.
OAIster contains a variety of resources shared from other libraries including digitized books, journal articles, newspapers, manuscripts, audio files, video files, photographic images, data sets, and theses and research papers.
- American Memory
Browse this menu of topics to see books, images, manuscripts, and other materials related to various topics in American History.
Browse this web site to find all kinds of historical documents and information.
- Europeana Exhibitions
Europeana is an online portal of European history, museums, culture, and documents. Browse these exhibitions to get information about various historical topics. You can also click the small blue Visit Europeana link at the bottom of the page to view more historical materials.
- Iowa Heritage Digital Collections
Do a keyword search of these databases to find articles, books, and book chapters on various historical topics.
JSTOR is an archive of books and journals on all sorts of topics. Scroll down to the Narrow by Discipline menu and check History to limit your search to history journals only.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is probably THE best place to start searching for articles on any academic subject. It contains full text coverage to many journals, magazines, and other helpful resources on a wide variety of topics.
- Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a great database for the humanities and social sciences. It contains peer-reviewed academic journals, eBooks, and content from university presses.