Last Updated: Sep 11, 2014
You can get helpful background information or ideas for psychology research topics by browsing these web sites.
Most of the library's psychology journals are available in electronic format by searching the library's databases. To find useful articles, try a keyword search of these databases.
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is THE place to search for full-text peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PyschINFO is produced by the American Psychological Association (APA). It contains more and a wider range of citations than PsychARTICLES, however not everything is in full text. Access abstracts for over 3 million records including journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is probably THE best place to start searching for articles on any academic subject. It contains full text coverage to many journals, magazines, and other helpful resources on a wide variety of topics.
- Science Direct
Search millions of articles and book chapters in the areas of: health sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, engineering, and social sciences and humanities.
- Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a great database for the humanities and social sciences. It contains peer-reviewed academic journals, eBooks, and content from university presses.
JSTOR contains a variety of journal articles in many disciplines including sociology and social work.
PsycTESTS®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.