This page contains links to databases, reputable web pages, and helpful tutorials to help you find scholarly information on social work and sociology topics.
Last Updated: Oct 15, 2014
- Library Catalog
Search for physical books, journals, and DVDs at the Clarke library.
- eBooks (Social Work)
Browse a list of electronic books on all sorts of social work topics including child welfare, families, community development, social workers, and public welfare.
Search for books in libraries all over the world! If you have enough time (about two weeks) we can look into borrowing books you need through interlibrary loan (ILL).
To follow trends or get research ideas, you can browse these websites:
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
- Social Work Search
This page is a portal containing links to web sites that cover all sorts of topics including disabilities, minorities, mental health, child welfare, practice, and human services.
- The SocioLog: Topics in Sociology
This page contains links to web sites on a variety of topics including political change, sociologists, culture, social action, and research.
- Voice of the Shuttle: Cultural Studies
Find links to various cultural topics.
- Legal Information Institute: Family Law
This web site, from Cornell University Law school contains legal information on many topics.
- IPL: Ethnicity, Culture, and Race
Find information about ethnicity, racism, culture, and more.
- Urban Institute
"Nonpartisan economic and social policy research"
- Pew Research Social & Demographic Trends
"Numbers, facts and trends shaping your world."
Most of the library's sociology and social work journals are available in electronic format by searching the library's databases. To find useful articles, try a keyword search of these databases.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive and high quality sociology research database. It features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text from more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
- Social Services Abstracts (Proquest)
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is probably THE best place to start searching for articles on any academic subject. It contains full text coverage to many journals, magazines, and other helpful resources on a wide variety of topics.
- CQ Researcher
CQ researcher contains reports on a variety of current events topics including politics, science, education, environment, religion, health, and more.
- Annual Reviews Social Science
Annual Reviews provides access to some of the most cited original research articles in specific areas within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
JSTOR contains a variety of journal articles in many disciplines including sociology and social work.
- Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a great database for the humanities and social sciences. It contains peer-reviewed academic journals, eBooks, and content from university presses.
- GPO (Government Printing Office)
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).
This database searches scholarly journals on all sorts of topics including families, disabilities, laws, ethnicity, and economics.
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is THE place to search for full-text peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
Find encyclopedia articles that give background on a wide array of sociology and social work topics.