Last Updated: Jun 18, 2015
If you need background information on a nursing or health topic, try these books.
Nursing Care Plans
Call Number: RC 925.7 .B39 2003
Publication Date: 2009-10-27
Most of the library's nursing journals are available in electronic format by searching the library's databases. To find useful articles, try a keyword search of these databases.
CINAHL is one of the best databases for students to use in any health sciences field. It contains full-text for hundreds of nursing and other allied health journals.
- Ovid (full text nursing journals)
Ovid contains journals in the health sciences with a focus on nursing.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This resource contains lots of full text coverage of allied health fields, particularly nursing.
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Over 18 million citations from all areas of medicine including: dentistry, nursing, health services administration, and more.
- Science Direct
Search millions of articles and book chapters in the areas of: health sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, engineering, and social sciences and humanities.
- Public Library of Science: Medicine
This journal focuses on global health in terms of environment, biology, society, and politics.
- Academic Search Premier
To follow trends or get research ideas, you can browse these websites:
Browse these links to get additional background information on various nursing topics.
- Medline Plus: Health Topics
Read about symptoms, causes, treatment and prevention for over 900 diseases, illnesses, health conditions and wellness issues. MedlinePlus health topics are regularly reviewed, and links are updated daily.
- ebooks: Nursing
Browse a list of scholarly electronic books available from the library.
- NCBI Bookshelf
This collection from the National Library of Medicine contains digitized books (or parts of books), reports, articles, and more on various medical topics.
- Learning Express: NCLEX
The database Learning Express has practice NCLEX exams. To find them, enter NCLEX in the search box near the bottom of the page. To take the exams you must first create a free account with the database.
- How to Register with Learning Express
This short video shows you how to create an account in Learning Express.