This guide links to helpful biology databases, books, and web sites.
Last Updated: Sep 9, 2013
If you need background information on a biology topic, try a reference book. Ask at the reference desk for assistance finding these in the reference section.
Most of the library's biology journals are available in electronic format by searching the library's databases. To find useful articles, try a keyword search of these databases.
- Access Science
Access Science includes images, video, and animations in the areas of biology, Earth and environmental science, chemistry, physics to help undergraduates conceptualize science topics. Search this database to get additional information and background on your topic.
- Academic Search Premier
This multidiciplinary database is a great place to start for any academic subject. It contains full text coverage to many journals, magazines, and other helpful resources.
Search millions of articles and book chapters in the areas of: health sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, engineering, and social sciences and humanities.
Search GreenFile if you are interestd in how humans impact the environment. It includes scholarly and government articles on: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
JSTOR contains a variety of journal articles in a variety of diciplines including: business, economics, education, history, language, and literature.
- PLOS Biology
PLOS Biology is an open-access, peer-reviewed general biology journal published by PLOS, a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource. New articles are published online weekly; issues are published monthly.
- Biology and Life Sciences Journals
Open access journals in the health sciences field.
- Royal Society Archives
Select various science topics from the menu to search an open access archive of Royal Society science journals. *Not all of the results will be open access.
To follow trends or get research ideas, you can browse these websites:
- Science.gov: Biology and Nature
Find biology information from government organizations. Topics covered include ecology, biotechnology, genetics, animals and plants, and more.
- National Science Digital Library: Biological Sciences
This page links to various informational biology web sites. Topics covered include plant conservation, genomics, biodiversity and technology, and much more.
- IPL: Life Sciences
This page links to 163 biology web pages on all sorts of topics including DNA, wildlife, cells, history of biology, dictionaries, and more.
- WWW Virtual Library: Biosciences
Find information on a variety of biology topics including microbiology, forestry, and biophysics.
- National Agricultural Library Collections
See the Browse by Subject menu to the left to find open access information on animals, plants, conservation, and more.
Use this menu to search for print books in the Clarke library, browse electronic books, or find books in area libraries that you can request via interlibrary loan.
- ebooks: Life Sciences
Browse a list of scholarly electronic books available from the library.
- Library Catalog
Search for physical books, journals, and DVDs at the Clarke library.
- NCBI Bookshelf
This collection from the National Library of Medicine contains digitized books (or parts of books), reports, articles, and more on various biology topics.
Search for books in libraries all over the world! If you have enough time (about two weeks) we can look into borrowing books you need through interlibrary loan (ILL).