Last Updated: Apr 28, 2014
- Library Catalog
Search for physical books, journals, and DVDs at the Clarke library.
Search the electronic book collection which contains thousands of scholarly books on: business, literary criticism, religion, education, science, and more.
- Google Books
Search books Google has scanned into their book collection. Depending on copyright regulations you may be able to view parts or all of the book.
Search for books in libraries all over the world! If you have enough time (about two weeks) we can look into borrowing books you need through interlibrary loan (ILL).
As a student in higher education you will be required to find scholarly articles and resources. The following links will allow you to search for articles on a variety of business topics.
- Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier is a great database to use if you are looking for all types of business information. It contains full text research articles on a variety of business topics including: marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. In addition, it contains market reports, industry reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
- Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database is a great place to start for any academic subject. It contains full text coverage to many journals, magazines, and other helpful resources.
- MarketResearch.com Academic
MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to extensive and detailed market and industry reports that include: industry interviews, competitive analysis, market trends, product innovations, buyer behavior, and market share.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic provides access to resources in the areas of business, law, and news. It is most helpful with legal research.
JSTOR contains journal articles in a variety of disciplines including: business, economics, education, history, language and literature.
- Passport (Euromonitor)
Passport is a market research database used by researchers and companies to understand the global business environment. It features millions of statistics and in-depth reports on 27 industries with demographic, macro and socioeconomic data and analysis on consumers and economies in countries worldwide.
- Regional Business News
This is a good place to look for business news released in business publications, trade publications, newspapers, TV and radio transcripts, and magazines over the last 22 years.
- Business and Economics Journals (DOAJ)
The aim of Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals.
For additional ideas and background information or to follow news and trends, you can browse the following websites:
- Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER)
FRASER’s mission is to safeguard and provide easy access to the nation’s economic history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System—through digitization of documents related to the U.S. financial system.
- International Monetary Fund Data
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world. The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
- FDIC Regional Economic Conditions (RECON)
Regional Economic Conditions (RECON) was originally designed to assist the FDIC in the examination process by providing information at the state, MSA (Metropolitan Statistical Area) and county levels. This timely high-quality information about economic conditions and risks can be of benefit to some banks as well as the general public.
- Iowa Tax Research Library
This is an online library that contains Court Decisions, Rulings, and other information from the Iowa Department of Revenue archives.
- EDGAR (Electronic Data-Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval)
The EDGAR system contains data collected by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.
- Know This - Marketing Virtual Library
Know This is a resource for those involved in marketing, market research, advertising, selling, promotion, and other marketing-related areas.
- Business Plan Archive
Business Plan Archive is a research database for scholars and students interested in studying hi-tech entrepreneurship in the Dot Com Era and beyond. Originally a public repository, access is now limited to non-commercial academic research and educational use only. All interested users must submit a research proposal describing the intended scope and purpose of their research prior to receiving access.
- Industry Information Resources
The industry resource guides listed below provide sources for industry information, research, and analysis for over 400 industries. Individual guides for each industry list resources and data available from trade associations, industry publications, research firms, and other sources which address subjects such as industry analysis, statistics, trends, and forecasts, financial information and financial ratios, compensation
and salary surveys, and business valuation resources.
Search a large collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries to gain background information on your research topic.
- Oxford Reference
Search Oxford's quality up-to-date reference collection as a starting point for your research on a variety of topics.